Hot Milk Cupcakes

I’m almost embarrassed to be telling you what kind of cupcakes I made.  I looked back on my previous posts and realized the last few have all been lemon flavoured.

Must be spring.  Must be related to my hopes for some warm sunny weather and spring blossoms.  I’m ready for it.

It seems to be taking its sweet time.

It really doesn’t matter what the flavour of icing is for these cupcakes, the cake is the real star here.   This is a recipe for old-fashioned Hot Milk Cake.    The texture is similar to a sponge cake, but not quite as dense and much more moist.  Just as it sounds, it’s the addition of a hot milk mixture right at the end of the recipe that makes these  so wonderful.  I added a vanilla bean to the milk as it was heating.  It gives it a little extra sweetness.

Can you see my cake looking on in the distance?  It has a creamy lemon curd filling and just a swirl of lemon buttercream on top.  I had enough batter for 20 cupcakes and a 6 inch cake.

I couldn’t resist the sugar dogwood for decoration.  This cupcake here, is the one I have received the most emails and comments about.  Ever.  It’s just gorgeous.  These are a smaller version of the dogwood that I purchased on-line.   The simple addition of a blossom can take a little cake to a whole new level.

Wouldn’t these be gorgeous in a big beautiful bakery box for mom on Mother’s Day?

Hot Milk Cupcakes

*adapted from Taste of Home

  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • one vanilla bean split and scraped
  • 2-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2-1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • pinch of kosher salt
  • 1-1/4 cups whole milk
  • 10 tablespoons butter, room temperature, cubed

1.  In a large bowl, beat eggs on high-speed for 5 minutes (don’t skimp on this step!) until thick and lemon-colored. Gradually add sugar, beating until mixture is light and fluffy and increased in volume. Beat in vanilla. Combine flour, salt and baking powder; gradually add to batter just until combined.

2. In a small saucepan, heat milk, vanilla bean, seeds and butter just until butter is melted and mixture begins to bubble slightly at the side of the pan. Remove vanilla bean.  Gradually add milk to batter, a few tablespoons at a time; beat just until combined

3.  Pour into greased and floured 6 inch pan and 20 lined muffin cups.  You can also use a 9 x 13 pan.  Bake at 350 degrees until cake springs back when touched.   For the 6 inch pan approx 30 minutes, cupcakes approx 17 minutes and 9 x 13 pan approx 40 minutes.

4.  Top with icing, berries and cream or dust lightly with powdered sugar.  Enjoy.

45 Comments

Filed under Cup Cakes

45 responses to “Hot Milk Cupcakes

  1. Patricia

    These cupcakes are beautiful, did you used Swiss Meringue Buttercream for the icing ???

  2. Tesei

    These are beautiful, really! Thank you as always for sharing your work!!! What icing do you ise, can you give the recipe, it looks soft and easy to pipe which is not always an easy combination. Thanks.

  3. You always make such beautiful desserts. Love the look of these cupcakes and love the recipe. Especially love that you added vanilla bean!

  4. lostdododesigns

    I simiply can not wait to try this delicious recipe. I love the dogwood flower!

  5. These are adorable! YUM!

  6. These look great! I love how you did the icing (:

  7. These are so pretty! I can’t wait to try them!

  8. Grieta

    Hello – how much is 10 tablespoons of butter, in terms of grams/ml?

  9. magdalena

    can you share your recipe for lemon buttercream?

    • magdalena

      cancel that, I found it on another page! Going to try this tonight. hope mine come out half as nice as yours!!!

    • Hi Magdalena!
      I just use my usual SMBC recipe (which can be found on pretty much every cupcake post lol). Then I add lemon curd to taste. Usually about 1/2 a cup. You can also use lemon pie filling. Renee

  10. magdalena

    what piping tip do you use to create the ribbon look of your buttercream

  11. Great shots of the cupcakes!

    Lon

  12. Jacelyn

    Hello! May I ask how long can the cupcakes last? Is there anyway to make the cupcakes less sweet and fluffier?

  13. Pingback: Angry Birds Cupcakes | My Kitchen Trials

  14. Alexandra

    Hello.. Does pouring melted milk-butter after the flour combined with eggs and sugar make the cake dry? Cause it happened to me 😦

    • Alexandra- So sorry to hear that! I have had a lot of success with this cake, never a dry piece. Perhaps it was baked a smidge too long? Or maybe bake at a slightly lower temp? Don’t give up on this one! It’s a great cake!
      Renee

  15. Rab

    Hey there, would love to try this out but it always turn out wrong whenever I tried to follow cup measurement.
    Are u able to share the metric measurements instead?

    Thanks in advance !! 😀

  16. Cat

    Thanks for your wonderful recipe, I made a trial batch of these for my sons forthcoming birthday party and they were fantastic! Fingers crossed they turn out as well for the party. I am in Australia and was relieved to find your recipe didn’t ask for cake flour as it is hard to find here. I have been trawling the internet for a white cake recipe for a cake to go on the top tier of the cupcake tower when I realised I can just use this recipe! Thanks again 🙂
    Ps I used an online metric baking conversion chart to calculate everything into grams and the cupcakes were perfect.

  17. Pingback: Hot Milk Cake All Glammed Up | SweetRevelations

  18. Jayde

    Hi! I am planning to use this recipe to make 2 x 6 inch round cakes on Monday and Tuesday, icing with SMB on Friday for a party on Saturday. Will they freeze and defrost okay?
    Thanks!

  19. Pingback: Hot Milk Cupcakes

  20. Pingback: Hot Milk Cupcakes

  21. lien

    When I made the cake it turned out very dense. Any idea what I could have done wrong?

  22. myra

    Do you have a great buttercream frosting recipce? I need one badly!

  23. remrox

    hot milk is really good

  24. la_lune

    Yum! I made these the other day because I needed a recipe to use up the rest of the milk in my fridge and it was the best decision I could’ve made! They didn’t even last long enough to ice 🙂

  25. jay

    I made those and it was kinda jellyish or i dont know how to discrip it and kind of smelly because the egg
    Is my mistake pouring in the mix of milk while its hot ?

  26. Latonya Gamble

    Hi, can I use swans cake flour instead of the flour, salt and baking powder?

Leave a comment