Flawless Fresh Peach Pie

It’s been a jam-packed summer at our house.  We’ve been catching rays, catching waves and enjoying time with our family and friends.   I’ve stayed up all hours of the night reading and promising myself that I’ll shut out the lights at the end of the next chapter.  And then the next chapter, and then one more.

Isn’t that what holidays are all about?

sweetrevelationspeachpie

The kids are sleeping in late every morning and I find myself in the kitchen, rolling pastries or kneading dough.  It’s such a soothing way to start the day, and sometimes the only sound in the house is the noise of the rolling pin on the counter.  I’m happiest when there’s a pie or two cooling on the stove.  Even happier to give them to a friend who will enjoy them.

sweetrevelationspeachpie

It’s definitely pie season in this house.  What better way to showcase all of the fruit that summer has to offer than in a flaky pastry crust!  For me, there isn’t a fruit out there that captures the sweet, essence of summer like a juicy, ripe peach.  They’ve just come into season here and I couldn’t be happier.  I’ve already made this pie many times for barbecues and lunches on the patio.  Peaches are plentiful at market right now, and so sweet and delicate and juicy.

sweetrevelationspeachpie

Don’t be daunted by pastry, like anything it just takes a little practice.  My mother says she baked a pie every Saturday when she was newly married until she got it right. She definitely got it right.  She can make a mean pie to this day and she was often in charge of pies in the bake shop because I knew they would be perfect every time.  I have included her flaky pastry recipe for you to try.

peachpiesweetrevelations

I hope you’re having a wonderful summer!

Renee

xo

Flawless Fresh Peach Pie

For the Pastry:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup Crisco Shortening
  • 4-6 tbsp cold orange juice
  1.  Stir the salt and flour in a medium bowl.  Cut in the Crisco, with a pastry knife (pieces should be about the size of peas).  Sprinkle on orange juice and stir with a fork just until it holds together.  Divide the dough into two and press each half into a smooth disk.  Cover with plastic and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

 

For the Filling:

  • 4 cups of peaches, peeled and sliced, approx. 6 medium peaches
  • 3/4 cups white sugar
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup of sliced almonds for sprinkling on top crust (optional)
  • 1 tbsp of heavy cream for top crust
  • 1/2 tsp of sugar for sprinkling on top crust

Preheat oven to 450°

  1.  Mix the sugar, cinnamon and flour for the filling in a small bowl and set aside.  Roll out 1 pie crust disk on a lightly floured surface to a size approximately 12-inches round. Transfer it to 9-inch pie dish.
  2. Put two cups of the sliced peaches in the bottom of the pie shell.   Sprinkle half of the sugar mixture on top.  Put the last two cups of peaches on top of that and sprinkle with the remaining sugar mixture.  Dot with butter.
  3. Roll out the second pastry disk to approximately 12- inch round.  Because I didn’t do a picture tutorial for a lattice crust, you will find an excellent tutorial here.  The pictures make the process very simple, if this is your first time.  Once complete, trim the excess pastry to about 1/2 over hang.  Fold the top and bottom crusts together and crimp the edges to seal.  You can also do a simple pie crust on top by simply rolling out your second disk, to a 12-inch round and placing it on top of the peach filling.  Simply put 4 steam slits, with a sharp knife, about 3/4 of an inch long near the centre of the pie.
  4. Lightly brush some heavy cream on top of the top crust and sprinkle with sugar and almond slices.   Bake for 15 minutes at 450° then reduce heat to 350° and bake for 35 minutes longer until crust is golden and filling is bubbling.  Best eaten slightly warm.

Notes:

  1. I often bake my pies in a convection toaster oven.  That way I don’t heat up the house in the summer.
  2. I’ve made this pie and frozen it before baking many times with excellent results.  I just add an extra teaspoon of flour or tapioca sprinkled on the bottom crust before I put the filling in.  Just add an extra 20 or 30 minutes of baking time. What a treat a summer peach is in the dead of winter!

 

 

27 Comments

Filed under Pie

27 responses to “Flawless Fresh Peach Pie

  1. Babette

    Ooh, now if I could just find some nice peaches… if I’m using store-bought pastry, would shortcrust be more like what you’ve made? Thanks!

  2. It DOES look and sound absolutely flawless Renee 🙂

  3. This looks awesome Renee. I made peach pie this week too 🙂 I never thought of using orange juice in the crust instead of water. Sounds awesome! And I love the touch of slivered almonds on top. My hubby is so sold on my original pie recipe, he is hard to convince on changing things up a little – LOL! But I might sneak a few tweaks by one of these times 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  4. jasonsandeman

    I have never seen a toaster oven used for pie. I’ll have to see about that one. Great idea. Plus, orange juice in the pie crust. I love that idea. Do you find the crust is a bit more tender that way?

  5. jasonsandeman

    I love the thought of using a toaster oven for a pie. I would never have thought of doing that.
    Do you find the orange juice (another great idea BTW!) adds a bit of tenderness to the pie crust because of the acid?

    • Hi Jason!
      Mom says, it’s all she has ever used. Makes her pies flaky and tender. The toaster oven is awesome in the summer. It bakes a pie perfectly and no heat in the kitchen. 🙂
      Renee

  6. Beautiful pie! I have a ton of peaches on my counter just begging to made into a pie 😉

  7. I absolutely love fresh peaches, going to have to try this soon! I’m also a lover of early morning baking when it’s quiet and you have the kitchen to yourself 🙂

  8. Homeschooled Girls

    I LOVE peaches. One of my favorite fruits! Only problem is, my family doesn’t eat much pie. Looks amazing, though!

    I made the Love cookies, and they were AMAZING! Thanks so much for all the great recipes!

  9. Sounds amazing, any fruit pie is my idea of heaven especially with summer fruits like peaches! Definitely going to try this 🙂

  10. Thank you thank you thank you for this! My parents brought me a box of peaches last weekend and they’re coming out my ears now! I eat one a day but I need to do something with them! 🙂

  11. Thank you for my new “go to” pie crust recipe. I’ve always used a tablespoon of vinegar and then water as needed for the rest of the liquid. I liked my pie crusts for their flakiness, but every once in a while I found there was just a little too much acid in the crust. The orange juice is a stroke of genius; you get flakiness and tastiness.

    I will definitely try this again while we still have peaches around, because I love the idea of freezing some pies for the dead of winter. Next time, however, I will reduce the sugar a smidge. I found it a bit too sweet (admittedly, I used a combination of 2 parts white sugar and 1 part brown). I like a little more tartness from the fruit.

  12. What a great looking pie! I’m counting down the days until stone fruit season here in Oz. Loving the idea of orange juice in the crust as well.

  13. Pingback: Back To Basics- Easy Pie Crust Recipe For Perfect Pie Every Time - Hello Creative Family

Leave a Reply

