Epic Double Chocolate Glazed Tart

This tart is so simple yet so rich and decadent.  A chocolate lovers dream!  Insanity on a plate!

tart 6

It’s so ridiculously simple and the presentation is fabulous!  It’s almost embarrassing to say how little time this takes to make.  I challenge you to skip that tired old apple pie and serve one of these tarts this holiday season.  You’re family and guests will thank you.

tart 1

Listen, if you’ve been hanging out with me for a while you know about my love affair with chocolate.  In all forms.  I’ve yet to meet a chocolate I didn’t like.

I would wrestle my own babies down the for last piece of dessert.  I used to steal the mini chocolate bars from their Halloween bags.  I have been carrying around a bag of Lindt Truffles in my purse for two weeks and I sneak pieces when I’m driving to work.  I hoard it.

I have no shame.

tart 2

I topped mine off with an easy Pistachio Brittle and some sweetened whipped cream but you could easily skip the candy and opt for some fresh berries instead.  The sweetened cream cuts the richness of the chocolate.   It’s essentially a truffle tart with a chocolate crust that gets even better the next day.   Quality chocolate is a must here dessert lovers.  When I had the bakeshop, we used the best we could get.  In brownies, cakes and ganaches it makes all the difference in the world.

tart 3

Are you a chocolate lover like me?  What’s your epic chocolate dessert?  Enjoy,

Renee

Chocolate Glazed Tart

*adapted from Epicurious.com

 

For the Crust:

  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 cups chocolate graham crumbs

For the filling:

  • 1 1/4 cups heavy cream
  • 9 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

For the glaze:

  • 4 tablespoon heavy cream
  • 3 1/2 ounces bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped
  • 2 teaspoons light corn syrup
  • 2 tablespoons warm strong coffee

Equipment:

  • a 9-inch round fluted tart pan or a springform pan
Preheat oven to 350°F .

  1.  Stir together the melted butter and chocolate crumbs and press evenly onto bottom and 1 inch up side of pan.  Bake until firm, about 10 minutes. Cool on a rack while you prepare the filling.
  2. Bring the cream for the filling almost to a boil, then pour over chocolate in a bowl and let stand 5 minutes. Gently stir until smooth. Whisk together eggs, vanilla, and salt in another bowl, then stir into melted chocolate.
  3. Pour the filling into crust and bake for about 25 minutes – the center will be slightly wobbly but the outside will feel set.Cool completely in pan (about 2 hours).
  4. Bring cream for the glaze almost to a boil and remove from heat. Stir in chocolate until smooth. Stir in corn syrup and coffee.  Immediately pour glaze onto tart and rotate tart so glaze coats top evenly. Let stand until glaze is set, about 1 hour.
  5. Serve with sweetened whipped cream and berries.

 

I found the easy Pistachio Brittle recipe here.

 

 

26 Comments

Filed under Pie

26 responses to “Epic Double Chocolate Glazed Tart

  1. lealasala

    i love to try it! 🙂

  2. This looks delicious!!! Your note about using quality chocolate is so true. I need to remember this when I’m tempted to buy the cheaper stuff because it’s on sale…

  3. Mmm beautiful and I think the word epic describes it very well!

  4. thedoughhouse

    There is a recipe in Rose Levy Beranbaum’s Cake Bible, the chocolate oblivion truffle torte, and it has only three ingredients: 1 lb bittersweet chocolate, 1/2 lb butter, and six eggs. Now I’ve never made this cake, but if I did I think it would definitely be my most epic chocolate dessert!

  5. Renee, this is a work of art. I am putting this on my must make list. I think Christmas dessert is done! Just beautiful.

  6. jaclyn6780

    I can relate to being a chocolate hoarder too, I have a secret drawer in my kitchen. Looks amazing! Great photo’s that make me just want to make this right now

  7. Shafaq T.

    OMG the blackness of the tart looks amazing .. I can only imagine how good it would taste 😀

  8. Oh my goodness! Chocolate heaven! Can’t wait to try this!

  9. Oh my goodness! This Tart looks incredible!

  10. stunning – can’t wait to try!

  11. Sounds delicious and looks amazing, actually everything looks amazing I love the photography on your blog

  12. Pingback: The Weekly Whisk – 11/8/2014 | HostessAtHeart

  13. This looks utterly fantastic and very indulgent! As a chocoholic I will definitely have to give it a try sometime soon! 🙂

    http://fromayoungfoodie.wordpress.com

  14. chefceaser

    Reblogged this on Chef Ceaser.

  15. yum I think that we will be making this soon

  16. erika

    Woahhh. I’ve been looking for a chocolate torte recipe for a while now and I think this has just topped them! I’ll be trying this… 🙂

  17. Loved it! I’m the biggest chocolate lover in the world and I didn’t think I would enjoy this, since I don’t really like tarts.

  18. looks very nice love the chocolat love the cake there”s no gelatine in…

  19. This tart looks absolutely heavenly! I will most certainly be trying it soon 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  20. I need this in my life! I will be getting to the kitchen today!

  21. Pingback: The Weekly Whisk – 11/8/2014

  22. Pingback: 37 Decadent Chocolate Recipes - Hello Creative Family

  23. Oh, Renee… Can you please move in and bake for me? You have me DROOLING with this recipe!

    I included this in a roundup I did of decadent chocolate recipes! I’d love for you to check it out and share it on social media if you think your followers would like it! Here is the link:

    http://hellocreativefamily.com/36-decadent-chocolate-recipes/

    Thanks so much for creating such a delicious dessert!

    Best Wishes,

    Crystal

Leave a Reply

