Pumpkin Custard {with Brownie Croutons}

I am a complete sucker for fall recipes.  I spend most week-ends in the fall baking.  Breads and pies, cakes and cookies.   I’m sort of ridiculous about it.   Possibly slightly obsessed.

pumpkincustard

Pumpkin is right up there at the top.  My most favoured fall ingredient.  I’ve already shared with you that my mom makes the best pumpkin pie ever.   EVER.  And when I was in the bake shop, I baked a lot of these Brown Butter Pumpkin Cakes.  So moist.  So good.

pumpkincustard2

Most recently, I’ve been consumed with Pumpkin Custard and pudding recipes.   Which tastes exactly like pumpkin pie without the crust.   It’s literally five ingredients.   Topped off with some  whipped cream and the most delectable dark chocolate little brownie croutons ever.

pumpkincollage2

It feels sort of criminal to toast off brownie pieces until they’re in crouton form.  My family thought I was losing my grip on reality when I was putting the brownie pieces in the oven.  Until we took that first crunchie bite and realized there’s no need to feel conflicted!  They taste amazing and offer some rich chocolatey contrast to the smooth pudding.

So good and SO easy!

What’s your favourite fall dessert?

Pumpkin Custard

* taken from Blue Apron Blog
1 3/4 c pumpkin puree
2 eggs
1 1/2 c heavy cream (reserve 1/2 cup for whipped cream)
1 c light brown sugar
1 1/2 tsp Chinese Five-Spice

Pre-heat the oven to 300°F.

1.  In a medium mixing bowl combine all ingredients (except the reserved cream) and whisk until smooth.

2.  Divide the batter between four jars or ramekins.    Place jars on a cookie sheet and bake for 35 minutes, or until the middle is just set.  Serve slightly warm or let them cool and refrigerate until needed.  This is a great make ahead dessert!

3.   Whip the remaining whipped cream until soft peaks form and top the custards just before serving.  Garnish with croutons if desired.

 

Brownie Croutons

1.  Very little brownie is needed to make the croutons.  I used a brownie square, approximately 3″ x 3″ and cut it into small cubes.  Spread the cubes on a baking sheet and bake for 30-40 minutes at 275° , until toasted.   yum!

 

 

 

19 Comments

Filed under Pudding

19 responses to “Pumpkin Custard {with Brownie Croutons}

  1. Pumpkin desserts are perfect for the Fall! My favorite fall Dessert would be Pecan Pie. =)

  2. If I died after eating on of those…I would still be happy. Fall is my all time favorite time of year. The weather, the colors, the food, its all just perfect. My 7th wedding anniversary is October 5th. I was GOING to make one of the other deserts you have posted…but I don’t know if I want anything ells now!

  3. you’re in point of fact a just right webmaster. The web site loading velocity is
    amazing. It seems that you’re doing any unique trick.
    Moreover, The contents are masterwork. you’ve performed a fantastic job in this matter!

  4. I do believe all the ideas you have presented for your post.
    They’re really convincing and will certainly
    work. Nonetheless, the posts are too short for newbies.
    Could you please prolong them a bit from next time? Thank you for the post.

  5. I love your addition of the brownie croutons, but I bet this pumpkin dessert is fabulous just on its own!

  6. themindlessmusings

    mmm brownie croutons. I definitely like the sound of that.

  7. LOOOOOOOVE. I wish it were fall all year long.

  8. You had me at brownie croutons! I will definitely be putting this into my fall dessert rotation.

  9. This is amazing – I just want to taste! Brownie croutons. Yum.

  10. Pingback: Chocolate and Peanut Butter Parfaits | Agape Cakes

  11. Thank you for making me drool. haha! Can’t wait to follow your creations!

  12. Pingback: Chocolate and Peanut Butter Parfaits | Agape Bakes

  13. I am so making this! Pumpkin for the win 🙂

Leave a Reply

