Perfect Fresh Peach Scones {For Your Freezer}

I made these scones this morning.

I made these scones yesterday morning.

I probably will make these scones tomorrow morning.  And the morning after.

peachscone2

I’ve been making scones first thing in the morning for a really long time.  When I had the bake shop, I baked thousands of scones at the crack of dawn.  Literally.  Hand rolled and cut, these were one of our most requested items.   Some with just a sprinkle of sugar on top and some with a sweet sugar glaze.

Who doesn’t love a fresh warm buttermilk scone straight from the oven?   Rolled and layered with chunks of fresh seasonal produce, it’s the perfect morning snack or tea time treat.

peachscones4

The beauty of this scone recipe, is the versatility.  Switch out the peaches for fresh pears and some ginger.  Remove the cinnamon and add lemon zest and fresh blueberries.    Throw in some cinnamon and raisins.

It requires minimal mixing and next to no kneading.  The less you work it, the better.

I roll new flavours all summer long as produce comes into season.  Then I freeze unbaked scones on a cookie sheet.  Once frozen, I store them in a freezer bag and bake as needed all fall and winter long.

peachscones3

 

I throw a few into the oven each morning as I’m getting ready for work.  Then a quick wrap with saran and the kiddo’s can grab a warm one on their way out the door.

Isn’t that the best way to start your day?

The recipe makes a generous amount of scones, bake some today and freeze the rest!

Do you have a favourite scone recipe?  I would love to hear about it!

Enjoy!

 

Fresh Peach Scones

  • 4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tbsp + 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup butter, frozen
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 cup sour cream (full fat works best)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 medium fresh peach, thinly sliced
  • 2 tbsp melted butter and cinnamon sugar for topping (2tbsp sugar + 1 tsp cinnamon)

1.  In a large mixing bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, soda, salt and cinnamon.  Use a cheese grater to grate the frozen butter into the flour mixture.  Mix gently with a fork to coat the butter with the flour mixture.

2.  In a separate small bowl mix the buttermilk, sour cream and egg.  Make a well in the centre of the flour mixture and pour buttermilk mixture in.  Mix gently to incorporate.

3.  Knead dough on a floured surface, maximum 1o times.  The idea is to knead very little to keep that butter cold.  Roll into a large rectangle, about 22 inches by 12 inches.  Spread thin peach slices all over the surface of the dough.  Starting with the longest side, roll the dough up towards you into a log.  Tuck in the seam.   You should be left with a log about 22 inches long.  Pinch the ends together and press down on the log to slightly flatten it.   Keep the seam on the bottom.

4.  Brush the scone log with the melted butter.  Sprinkle with cinnamon sugar.  Cut the log in half.  Cut each half in half.  Cut each quarter in half.   You will be left with 8 squares.  Cut each square on the diagonal to make 2 scones, for a total of 16 scones.

5.  Bake at 425 for 20-25 minutes or place unbaked scones on a parchment lined cookie sheet and freeze for at least an hour.  Place frozen scones in freezer bags for easy storage.  Bake from frozen.  Eat warm!

 

14 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Scones and Breads

14 responses to “Perfect Fresh Peach Scones {For Your Freezer}

  1. I’ve never made my own scones before. I think this will be my next baking adventure!

  2. Definitely want to try these – YUM! If I can get past folks asking for my cinnamon chip scones 🙂 Can’t wait to taste peachy ones! Thanks for sharing!

  3. I love scones – so easy! Yours look delicious – will have to give them a try. Here are mine: http://thelittlelibrarycafe.com/2014/05/09/scones-the-butterfly-lion/.

  4. Karry

    We LOVED the Peach Scones! And freezing them is excellent. I was commended mid week for having fresh out of the oven scones for my 10 year old foodie! Next she says we must try it with strawberries and cream cheese. I love your method much more than my KAF method too. Thank you so much they were sooo yummy!!!

  5. Hello Dear, are you genuinely visiting this web page daily, if so
    afterward you will absolutely obtain fastidious experience.

  6. Greetings from Florida! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out
    your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the information you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.

    I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, wonderful site!

  7. Talitha

    This looks really delicious! I have to try this! You’re photo’s are beautiful!

  8. Hi , your blog looks amazing 🙂 please like and comment on things you like and thing you think i should work on my blog.. Thankss x

  9. chefceaser

    Reblogged this on Chef Ceaser.

  10. Pingback: Skillet Apple Scones {with Maple Butter Drizzle} | SweetRevelations

Leave a Reply

