Fresh Strawberry Pie { And A Sweet New Beginning}

This week-end is a celebration of sorts in our house.  It’s a period of huge transition and we’re all really excited.

strawpie1

Let me set the scene for you.  For almost 20 years I have been working with elementary children.  Some with challenges far larger than I or you will ever face.  But they are some of the happiest, brightest and most endearing people I have ever met.   They have taught me huge lessons about myself and the world around me.  And I adore each one of them.

I also own a bakery that I have been running for the last few years in the evenings out of a local warehouse.  A different kind of love for me, but a passion that I’ve had for a long time.  It started as merely a challenge for me.  Could I start a community bakery, sharing my passion for locally produced food, and have it be a success?  Well it certainly was.

strawpie3

Let me tell you, I have full appreciation for anyone who is running their own business.  It’s such a huge personal investment that comes with amazing rewards and scary challenges.

But I did it and it was embraced by the community.  I’ve met some pretty awesome people and been a part of some amazing celebrations.  And I’ve grown a huge appreciation for  buying locally produced foods and seen the businesses in my community in an entirely different way.

strawpie

 

My children are in their teens so initially I thought that being away from home for so many hours wouldn’t phase them at all.  They are the independent, smart kids that I’ve raised them to be and my husband never complained at doing double duty.   Dinner was often on the fly, running out the door between jobs, always answering calls and emails and checking the to-do list.  I often got in the door at bedtime and poked my head in their rooms to say goodnight.  They were fine, good kids and no worse off for the crazy busy life we were living now.

But I missed them.  I missed our dinners and lazy Saturday mornings.  I missed our camping trips and after school discussions and their sports.  I cherished our Sundays at home.  My babes seemed to be growing up before my eyes and I felt like I was missing out.  So I made the decision recently to close up the bake shop and keep working my day job.  It’s been a bittersweet decision but one this whole house is excited about!  After my announcement the kids seemed relieved and told me they missed me too.

strawtart

So today is our Sunday at home.  We have eight more days until we close the bakery doors for good.  I’m so thankful I had the opportunity to show my children that taking a risk can have such a positive pay off.  And I’m so thankful that I get the opportunity to be at home with them again for the next few years until they head out the door for their own adventures.   I already feel far more happy and fulfilled and the best part is that I can still share my love of all things sweet with all of you.

What a sweet new beginning!

strawpie5

 

We are celebrating our final week with this Fresh Strawberry Pie using locally grown sweet berries.  Literally 15 minutes to make and no baking required.  Use the strawberries in tarts, a larger pie, or in sundae cups with sweetened whipped cream.  This is hands down my favourite all time summer pie.  Yum!  Happy summer everyone!

 

Fresh Strawberry Pie

  • 1 pre-baked 9″ tart shell or 24 small tart shells
  • 1 1/2 quarts of strawberries (about 6 cups), rinsed and hulled
  • 1 1/4 c sugar
  • 1 tbsp. corn starch
  • 2 tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1 pkg clear gelatin (or 1 tbsp.)
  • 1/4 cup cold water
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1 tbsp. powdered sugar

1.  Place 4 cups of whole berries into the pie shell (or however much of a quart that you can neatly fit).

2.  Place gelatin in the cold water and let it sit while you prepare the filling.  Crush the rest of the berries and place them in a small pot.  Add sugar, lemon juice and corn starch.  Cook on medium heat until mixture begins to thicken, stirring often.  Remove from heat and add gelatin mixture.  Mix well.  Poor over berries in shell.  Chill until set.

3.  Whip the heavy cream and powdered sugar with a hand mixer until soft peaks form (best to use a chilled bowl).  Serve with the pie.

13 Comments

Filed under Pie

13 responses to “Fresh Strawberry Pie { And A Sweet New Beginning}

  1. Sasha

    Oh, this looks divine!

  2. The pie looks awesome and I applaud your decision. It looks like a hard one but one that will certainly pay off.

  3. Daniela

    I know the pie is delicious. I’ve tasted it before. 🙂 I can’t wait to make one next weekend for a little celebration we’re having. Thanks for this reminder.

    Most of all in this reply I wanted to congratulate you on everything you have accomplished with your business. Owning your own business, you’ve achieved something that so many people simply dream of. Closing the business when you are doing well is really a blessing. How many people can claim that they made such a transition at the top of their game? Realizing the limits of your time and energy is indeed a sweet revelation – so many others never have that revelation and then something has to give in their lives usually against their will. I believe you will never regret the extra time spent with your family (and sleeping in on the weekend). The business you can come back to, but you can’t restart your kids growing up. I applaud you.

    An added bonus for your readers is that I suspect we’ll see more blog posts now that you’ve freed up some time. Looking forward to it.

  4. Margo

    The joy of opening your own business and the happiness of closing it! This our family knows, my son opened a restaurant 7 years ago, not married, no children, then came the wife and a child. 7 days a week, 7 am to 9 pm only Christmas Day off. All our family celebrations were at the restaurant. Sure the restaurant was successful , even featured on the Food Network! First baby is a year and a half now , and in two months a new baby comes. They have decided they want normal lives with their children and closed the business . So for the last two months we are living a so called normal life! Enjoy your family and children and don’t look back!

  5. Since it’s strawberry season, everyone’s posting strawberry recipes and it’s hard to pick and choose which ones to use, but this pie sounds like it’ll be fantastic! Definitely going on my list.

  6. Congratulations on making this very tough decision. You can always start a new business. You can regrow your children. I turned down a great job so I could spend more time with my children. A few years later, the company closed. Love this recipe!

  7. Thanks for sharing this lovely recipe – good luck for the future!

  8. That pie looks fab! Congratulations on making such a tough decision…always difficult but you know when it’s the right decision to make 🙂

  9. You will never regret choosing more time with your children. May this summer be a glorious time of lazy Saturday mornings and family camping trips. Much peace to you and your family.

  10. Wow, looks delicious! Congratulations on your decision to begin a new “chapter” in your life. It will definitely be an amazing summer being at home and cherishing more memories with your children. 🙂

  11. Thanks for the plain gelatin , the other leaves such an artificial taste .

  12. Pingback: Back To Basics- Easy Pie Crust Recipe For Perfect Pie Every Time - Hello Creative Family

Leave a Reply

