Baked French Toast

I haven’t posted in a while so I’m feeling some pressure to come back with something pretty amazing so you’ll remember how much you’ve missed me.

I’ve certainly missed you! And I’ve had so many blog worthy treats and thoughts in my head over the last few weeks, but nary a moment to write them down.
frenchtoast1

I think you’ll be pleased with my pick.  It’s probably one of my favourite brunch/potluck dishes. And, so easy to whip together the night before or the morning of.    Best served slightly warm, this is a great week-end dish, bursting with fresh blueberries and nutmeg.   The pecan crumble on top is a must.

Trust me.

frenchtoast

I have served this at many brunches and everyone loves it.  This week-end I decided to try it in my Wilton Shell Pan.  The warm individual French Toasts popped out on to our plates like a dream.

frenchtoast2

We serve it up with some homemade blueberry sauce ~ which let me tell you is not necessary but takes this dish over the top!

Baked French Toast

* adapted from The Pioneer Woman

◾1 loaf French Bread
◾10 Eggs
◾2 1/2 cups Half and Half Cream
◾1/2 cup Sugar
◾1/2 cup Brown Sugar
◾2 tbsp Vanilla Extract
◾ 1/2 tsp Nutmeg

For the Topping:
◾1/2 cup Flour
◾1/2 cup Firmly Packed Brown Sugar
◾1 teaspoon Cinnamon
◾1/4 teaspoon Salt
◾ 1/2 cup Cold Butter, Cut Into Pieces
◾ 1 cup chopped pecans
◾ 1 cup Blueberries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

1.  This can be cooked in 2 deep dish pie plates or a 9 x 13 pan.  Tear the bread into chunks and evenly distribute in the pan. Scatter fresh blueberries throughout the bread.  Whisk together the eggs, cream, sugars, nutmeg and vanilla. Pour over the bread and berries. Cover the pan and refrigerate- you can bake it now or in the morning!

2. In a small bowl, mix the flour, brown sugar, cinnamon, salt and pecans.  Add the butter and mix with a fork or pastry blender until the butter is crumbled. Store in the fridge until you’re ready to use it.

3.  When you’re ready to bake, remove the casserole from the fridge and sprinkle the topping evenly on top. Bake for 45 minutes to an hour.

 

16 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Scones and Breads

16 responses to “Baked French Toast

  1. This looks delicious. What a strong comeback 🙂

  2. Pingback: Favorite sweet finds this week | Edible Reflections

  3. How interesting! I would never have thought of making french toast this way, but it looks super delicious (and maybe less messy than the original).

  4. Your recipes look delicious, and your photography is beautiful!

  5. Same. Never thought of making french toast this way. This is so good and looks absolutely delicious. Always relish the idea of baking over pan frying. 🙂

  6. sugarsweetrunner

    This looks delicious and easy!!! I will definitely be trying this

  7. I love French Toast it’s one of my favorite thing ! I already did baked french toast but I never thought about doing it in individual portions !! This is such a good idea ! I could totally freeze them and just take one out of the freezer whenever I would feel like eating french toast ! Thanks for the tips and idea ! They look so good !

  8. Love the idea of individual french toasts! Looks AMAZING

  9. Looks delicious! 🙂 Cool concept of serving them individually.

  10. It looks yummy! thanks for your sharing.

  11. These look so good! I’ll definitely be trying these in the future at a family brunch! I love the idea for individual portions with the muffin tins!

  12. These are so cute! And I love that they’re perfectly portioned.

Leave a Reply

