Individual Baklavas with Ice Cream

Our family is so fortunate to live in a community with a thriving Farmers Market.  It’s open all year round and you can’t beat the selection of fresh produce, pastries, meats and dairy.  There’s also a great selection of locally produced honey.

baklavahoneyyyyyy

I’ve been buying it for a few years now.  It’s such a treat in the summer when I use it for macerating strawberries.  Just thinking about it makes me yearn for warmer days.

This week-end, I picked a dessert that was seriously the bee’s knee’s of all this honey business.  Baklava has long since been a favourite of mine but I’ve never attempted it because I don’t usually like working with Phyllo dough.

baklavasd by sd

I can’t believe all of the Baklava time that I’ve wasted….

Slightly warm with just a spoonful of ice cream, it’s absolutely delectable.

bak4

I wanted just enough servings for dinner and no more.  A sweet little treat for my busy bee’s at home.  It’s a little sticky, a little buttery and oh so nutty.  And it has just a whisper of orange flavour.

Is that enough adjectives for you?

baklavaeaten

Although a little prep is needed, it really is so simple to put together.  And the presentation is mouth-watering.

bak2

I simply cut the Phyllo with a round cookie cutter that fit perfectly in each cavity of my mini cheesecake pan.  Then I layered and layered until my heart was content.  Do take the time to butter each layer.  It’s so worth the extra effort!

Individual Baklava’s

  • Pkg of Phyllo sheets- thawed
  • 3/4 c finely chopped nuts- I used pecan and walnut
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • generous pinch of cloves
  • 2/3 c water
  • 2/3 c sugar
  • 1/2 c honey
  • 1/2 tsp orange zest
  • 1 tbsp. orange juice
  • 1/4 c melted unsalted butter

Preheat oven to 325°

If using a mini cheesecake pan or muffin tin, find a cookie cutter that is the same width as the cavity.

1.  Combine the nuts, cinnamon and cloves in a small bowl.  Set aside.

2.    Unroll the Phyllo sheets (keeping them all together) and cover the top half with saran and a damp cloth.  Use the cookie cutter to cut out the circles through the stack of sheets on the bottom half.  These can also be covered with saran and a damp cloth until needed.

2.  Butter the bottom of the pan and then start layering.  I used 6 circles on the bottom layer, brushing each with a smidge of butter before putting in the pan.  Then, a layer of nuts, about a tsp per cavity.  Next 2 more layers of Phyllo circles on each with a layer of nuts.  Continue layering, 2 Pyllo circles, a layer of nuts, 2 Phyllo circles, a layer of nuts.   Finish off with 6 Phyllo circles for the top layer.  Using the tip of a knife poke slits through each Baklava to allow the syrup to soak through (you will pour this on when they are out of the oven).  Bake for about 25 minutes, or until the top layer is golden.

3.  While pastry is in the oven, start syrup.  In a small pan combine the water, sugar, orange zest, orange juice and honey.  Bring to a boil.  Turn heat to low and simmer for about 8-10 minutes.

4.  Pour the hot syrup over each Baklava once they come out of the oven.  Spoon a generous amount over each Baklava, almost up to the top layer.  This will soak through the holes in the top of your pastry.  Allow Baklava’s to cool slightly.  Serve warm or cool with a spoonful of ice cream.  Store leftovers covered at room temperature.

 

17 Comments

Filed under Extra Special, Uncategorized

17 responses to “Individual Baklavas with Ice Cream

  1. Bonnie

    This looks like something i should try (to eat not make) let me know when it is coming our of the kitchen on Main St. – i’ll be there

  2. Oh, this looks perfect! Your individual baklavas are so cute!

  3. looks really yum, I would love to try this one 🙂

  4. These are beautiful. Baklava is one of my favorite thing on earth!

  5. CarpeBriem

    Oooh this sounds incredible. And I love the title of this! Great post.

  6. you had me at Baklava! 😉

  7. Janice Martin

    One of my most favourite desserts. Now I have a recipe! Thanks, Renée! PS- beautiful photos!

  8. The Editors of Garden Variety

    Creative and yummy!

  9. I love baklava, and I love your individual approach! What a cute variation on such a delicious and classic dessert. So lovely!

  10. I always wanted to try this! >.< i've seen it at "Good Eats" and looked so good!

  11. Your pictures make me wanna jump into the kitchen to start cooking! Great post!

  12. Wow! I absolutely love baklava and this looks like an amazing recipe!
    I love the idea of individual baklavas and I can’t wait to try them.
    And your baklava is greatly enhanced by your amazing food photography.
    Great photography, great post. Thank you for the inspiration.

  13. Wow! I absolutely love baklava and this looks like an amazing recipe! I love the idea of individual baklavas and I can’t wait to try them. And your baklavas are greatly enhanced by your beautiful food photography. Great photography, great post. Thank you for the inspiration.

  14. Being Greek… I think you have put a fantastic twist on a traditional dessert! They look scrumptious! 🙂

  15. The pictures look amazing. I have never had Baklava, but I can’t wait to try it! My sister is going to love it. Thank you for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

