Coconut Rum Cake with Dark Rum Butter Glaze

You know how I’ve always professed my love for scratch baked cakes?  How I find such pleasure in hand picking the finest ingredients and creaming and beating my heart out to create the most tender cake crumb?  And how most cakes taste the very best on the day they are made?

Well just for today….forget I said all that.

rum cake2

A good friend was recently talking to me about Rum Cake.  Typically served around the holidays, it’s a moist cake soaked in a glorious rum glaze.  I read online reviews from people who swore that it was hands down the most flavourful cake ever.

Pffft! What do those 800 people know anyway?

I searched and searched for a recipe that was baked from scratch, but you know what?  I made it and it didn’t taste the same.   Not quite as light and fluffy.  And I’m sure that the light and fluffy texture comes from one of the many ingredients on the box that I can’t pronounce…..

rum cake1

But today, I’m feelin a little wild and crazy and I’m ok with that.

Perhaps it’s the rum?

rum cake3

I substituted the vanilla pudding in the ingredients list for coconut pudding.  I used Coconut Rum in the cake and Dark Rum in the glaze.  The flavour is incredible and even better if you let the cake sit for 24 hours.

rum cake4

You know, boxed cake normally isn’t my style but just this once a doctored up cake mix suits me just fine.

Do you have a scratch recipe for Rum Cake?  I would love to hear from you!

Coconut Rum Cake with Dark Rum Butter Glaze

*adapted from About.com

  • 1/2 cup chopped, toasted pecans
  • 1/2 cup toasted coconut
  • 1  18 ounce box yellow cake mix
  • 3.4 ounces (4-serving size) instant coconut pudding mix
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup cold milk
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 cup Coconut Rum

Glaze

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup Dark Rum

Preparation:

Cake: Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Grease and flour 12-cup Bundt pan. Sprinkle nuts and coconut on bottom of pan. Combine all cake ingredients. Beat for 2 minutes on high with electric mixer. Pour into prepared pan. Bake for 1 hour. Cool in pan for 15 minutes. . Prick bottom of cake (still in pan) with wooden skewer. Drizzle 1/2 of glaze over holes in bottom of cake. Let sit for 40 minutes.  Invert cake onto cake plate and poke holes in the top with wooden skewer.  Poor or brush remaining glaze over top.  I made extra glaze (with a little less water) to drizzle on the cake  just before serving.  Next time I would omit it.  The cake has more than enough flavour without it.
Glaze: Melt butter in saucepan. Stir in water and sugar. Boil 5 minutes, stirring constantly. Remove from heat and stir in rum. Note: The rum will cause steam. Be careful not to burn yourself.

22 Comments

Filed under Cake

22 responses to “Coconut Rum Cake with Dark Rum Butter Glaze

  1. I haven’t used a cake mix in over a decade but if you were able to get this gorgeous looking cake out of one, I just might have to break my streak! This looks amazing. I LOVE rum cake – I need to make one over the holidays.

  2. JJ

    Unbelieveable!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    _____

  3. joanna jollymore

    James says yummy!

  4. This looks simply delicious, I am going to try it for my holiday table. I usually do an English black cake which is indigenous to my folks. Yours seems so decadent, can’t wait to try it. Cheers!

  5. Oh I have never heard of this cake, but it does sound absolutely delicious. Are there any other names for yellow cake mix as I am wondering if it is available in the UK.

  6. mataicooking

    Ich kann mir vorstellen wie es sich auf der Zunge und dem Gaumen anfűhlt. . .

  7. Courtney

    This cake is soooooo moist! It was absolutely delicious!

  8. I am an avid rum cake baker and your awesome pics have inspired me to play with different flavors! Cake looks fantastic!

  9. do you make the pudding before adding it to the mix?

  10. Sandra

    I wonder if you would get the same results if you bought the cake mix with the pudding already in it

  11. Liesel Jones

    Please tell me after all this time you found your recipe for rum cake. If not let me know as have a crowd pleasing recipe.

  12. Do you think you could use coconut oil instead of canola oil?

  13. Mr recipe
    3 and 3/4 cups flour
    1.5 tsp baking soda
    1/2 tsp salt
    12 tablespoons butter
    3/4 cups vegetable oil
    3 large eggs
    1.5 tsp vinegar
    1.5 tsp vanilla
    1.5 cups buttermilk

    For the sauce
    Half cup butter
    Half cup sugar
    Half cup rum

    For both recipesides use granulated sugar

    Cream butter and sugar and add oil slowly. Add eggs. Add remainder wet ingredients Except buttermilk. Mix dry ingredients add 2 cups dry ingredients alternating with buttermilk. Grease and then flour 2 bundt pans (instead of flour I use cake mix to flour my cake pans) bake for 30 -45 minutes
    For sauce
    Melt butter and granulated sugar in sauce pan. Pour rum and remove immediately from fire when start to bubble. Pour over cake. Visit my instagram page to see pics. Lantoinettecakeshoppe

Leave a Reply

