Peach Fritters

My dad is a great story-teller.   It’s something that I love about him and a bond that we share.  I love to hear the stories of his childhood in a small fishing village.  I love to hear stories about my ancestors and my heritage.  And I appreciate every one of them because they make the generations past seem real to me.

This year for my birthday he gave me the best gift.

He gave me an old cookbook that was my great-grandfathers.  My father is named after him and he died in 1927 in an accident.  He was a cook on a tug boat and my grandmother got this book when they went to retrieve his body and belongings.   It just made me feel so much more that cooking must be in my genes.   That I’m doing the right thing.

I decided to try the recipe for Fruit Fritters that was in there.  I love how some of the pages are marked with pencil and some have drops of  whatever on them.

I wonder, did he make the Fruit Fritters?

On my card my dad said that my great-grandfather would have been proud of the work I have done in the kitchen.

Gosh, that is just the best gift isn’t it?

For my fritters I used peaches.  It’s peach season around here and they are big and juicy and so sweet.  Apples would be good too.

Peach Fritters

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp grated nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 4-5 medium peaches, peeled and sliced into 1 inch slices
  • powdered sugar for dusting

1.  Sift dry ingredients together.  Add milk and eggs and mix until smooth.

2.  Heat canola oil to 350° in a deep pan or fryer.  Batter peach slices and gently drop into oil.  Fry for 3-5 minutes.  Dust with powdered sugar.  Best eaten warm.

23 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Extra Special, Scones and Breads

23 responses to “Peach Fritters

  1. Food speaks to who we are as a family and as a culture. What a wonderful gift you have been given.

  2. What a lovely post and I have no doubt that your great-grandfather would be extremely proud of you and of what you create in the kitchen. Your fritters look delicious and that cookbook is a treasure beyond measure.

  3. What a wonderful gift from your father! And those fritters look delicious – crispy on the outside, soft and fluffy with that glorious peach nestled on the inside.

  4. Definitely a great gift. I have my grandmother’s recipe book, all written in her own hand writing. It’s quite a gem.
    These fritters look good – it almost looks like custard inside them.

  5. Something passed down through your family makes a beautiful, everlasting gift. The peach fritters look delicious.

  6. How beautiful! Peach fritters sound out of this world.

  7. Having parents that are immigrants and who grew up during a war, I have only a picture or two of my great grandparent. Just one. What you have is an amazing treasure! And I am sure you are enjoying every page!

  8. Awesome droolistic tasting looking fritter recipe Renee. I have not been cooking much pastry lately because my teenage daughter has been on a gluten-free diet trial the last few months. She has to have a blood test to confirm this but so far I’ve been trying rice flour for some recipes like rhubarb filling pie with crust. Think this fritter recipe might work with rice flour (actually a blend of rice and other non-gluten grains)?

    • yes! I do! I have a colleague who is gluten-free and I would often pick her brain about substitutions. I did a little research on-line and it looks like rice flour is especially good for breading. Please, if you give it a whirl, could you get back to me and let me know how you made out? Good luck to your daughter.
      Renee

      • Good news! The fritters came out great. Bad news I only made about seven as a trial and then stopped. My fry pan wasn’t deep enough and the spattering was getting out of control, really need a fryer. Daughter and anti-gluten food son also liked them. Used Bob’ Red Mill mixed gluten-free flour. Now a quiche with gluten-free pie crust to make.

      • Good news, peach fritters came out great! Bad news, I only made about 7 as a trial run, the frying pan was spitting something bad, even spooked the dog, so I stopped making more. Gotta get a fryer for sure. I had used Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free flour mix and really like the blend. Next, Quiche with gluten-free pie crust from scratch.

  9. Looks delicious!! I love peaches, such a great summertime dessert 🙂

  10. I don’t have a fryer so how deep should the frying pan be and how much or what level should the canola oil be at?

    • I would use a dutch oven if you have one, or a deep frying pan with a few inches of oil. You’ll need to turn the fritters over after about two minutes. Let me know how they turn out!
      Renee

  11. Really nice post but it is usual for this blog! I adore your photos!

  12. Daniela

    What an amazing story about your great-grandfather’s cookbook. Clearly you come by your calling honestly. As for the recipe, I haven’t made fritters forever – now that it’s apple season, you’ve inspired me to cook up a batch.

  13. Pingback: Millions of Peaches…Peaches for Me | I Got This Martha

  14. igotthismartha

    This sounds delicious! I included this recipe in my Peach Round Up – Jeni;

Leave a Reply

