Deconstructed Black Bottom Banoffee Pie

I know I’m slightly behind the times on deconstructed desserts, however I’m going to relish in the beauty and simplicity of this dessert for a moment or two….

Really, deconstructing a dish simply means to plate it differently while allowing the individual components of the dish to shine.  Call it what you want, this dessert is stunning and absolutely delicious.   It takes no time at all.  None.  A quick pretzel crust, a few decadent layers and you’re done.

A layer of ganache, a layer of dulce de leche, a layer of whipped cream and some banana spears.   Top it off with pieces of pretzel crust and grin from ear to ear at your creativity.  This is a make-ahead dessert that will wow any guest.

Truth be told, this kind of dessert is perfect for me.  I’ve baked many a pie that looked as though it should be on the cover of Cooks Illustrated, only to discover I needed a jack hammer to cut into the bottom crust.   And, the filling is my favourite part, so just a wee bite of pastry is enough for me.

No one was home when I was photographing these and I’m delighted ashamed to say that I ate one of these for supper and one of these for dessert.  Not a soul around to tell me to get control of myself.  I loved every last spoon licking, glorious bite!

Deconstructed Black Bottom Banoffee Pie

Pretzel Crust

*adapted from Food and Wine

* you really only need half of this recipe for cookie sized pieces as garnish

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 1/4 cups coarsely crushed thin pretzels (3 1/2 ounces)
  • 3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 large egg

1.  In a standing electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the butter with 3/4 cup of the pretzels and the sugar at low-speed until creamy. Beat in the flour and egg. Add the remaining 1/2 cup of pretzels, being sure to leave some pretzel pieces intact. Flatten the dough between 2 sheets of plastic wrap and refrigerate until chilled, at least 30 minutes.

2.  Roll out dough about 1/4″ and cut with cookie cutters.  I placed the dough back in the fridge before baking the cut pieces (for about 10 minutes).  Bake at 325 degrees for approx 13 minutes or until golden.

Ganache

*I had enough ganache for 7 servings

  • 1 1/3 cup of chopped bittersweet chocolate such as Callebaut
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • pinch of kosher salt
  • 2 tbsp Bailey’s Liquor (Grand Marnier would work too)

1.  Place cream in a small saucepan and bring to a simmer.  Pour over chocolate and salt in a medium bowl and let mixture sit, untouched for 5 minutes.  Whisk until smooth and add the liquor.  Mix until incorporated.  Pour mixture into serving dishes and refrigerate.

Whipped Cream

  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 3 tsp icing sugar

1.  Whip cream and sugar on high-speed until whipped cream reaches desired consistency.

Assembly

1.   Pour chocolate ganache into serving bowls or mugs.  Be creative!  I also used ramekins for some of the servings.  Chill in the fridge for at least an hour.

2.  Top chocolate ganache with approximately a tablespoon of good quality dulce le leche.  Refrigerate until ready to serve.

3.  Just before serving, spoon some whipped cream on top of the caramel and add 2 spears of banana.  Garnish with your pretzel cookie.

Enjoy every last morsel!

7 Comments

Filed under Pie

7 responses to “Deconstructed Black Bottom Banoffee Pie

  1. This is just so pretty and it does sound like two servings in one day are a must!

    P.S. I’m with you on the filling being the best part of the pie. I prefer my crusts to be thin and serve to hold and compliment the filling.

  2. Anita

    This dessert looks so delicious! And the photos allow you the sensation of tasting simply by looking at them. Love it!

  3. Lovely! If someone placed one of those delightful cups in front of me at a dinner party, I’d be gobsmacked!

  4. Lindsay C

    That looks fabulous, Renee! Wow! Impressive, as always 🙂

  5. Yum! Another awesome recipe. I’m glad I found your blog, I am loving these treats you’re sharing.

  6. This looks so delicious!! I am sure I would love to have a cup myself!!

Leave a Reply

