Oven Baked Pumpkin Rice Pudding

Last week I made some Pumpkin Cupcakes for my dad’s retirement (remember these?) and I had a wee bit of pumpkin left over.   I decided to try some of mom’s Old Fashioned Rice Pudding with a little twist.

Imagine, warm gooey Pumpkin Rice Pudding full of pumpkin pie flavour garnished with toasted pecans and pure maple syrup.  Pumpkin pie without the crust.  Oh- my- goodness…perfect on a breezy, rainy day.  And I know I’ve said it before but this stuff is the ultimate comfort food for me.

I decided to have a little spoonful while it was cooling on the counter, but found myself frantically eating large spoonfuls like someone was sure to take the bowl away from me at any minute!   Honestly, if you like pumpkin pie, this stuff is that good!

What is your ultimate comfort food?

Pumpkin Rice Pudding with Toasted Pecans and Maple Syrup

*adapted from moms recipe

Pre-heat oven to 325°

Combine in a 1 1/2-quart buttered casserole:

1/2 cup uncooked regular rice

3 cups whole milk

1 cup pumpkin puree

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 tsp. kosher salt

1 tbsp unsalted butter

1 tsp pure vanilla

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cloves

1 tsp cinnamon

pinch of ginger

1. Stir all ingredients, except raisins, in a buttered 1 1/2 qrt casserole dish (until sugar is dissolved).  Bake for one hour stirring every 20 minutes.  At the end of the hour add 3/4 cup (less if you prefer) raisins and bake for another 20 minutes.

Garnish with toasted pecan pieces and drizzle with pure maple syrup.  Serve warm or cold.

4 Comments

Filed under Pudding

4 responses to “Oven Baked Pumpkin Rice Pudding

  1. Wow does that look good. I think I will be making this!

  2. I love pumpkin pie and something tells me (the wonderful photograph perhaps) that I would very much enjoy this pumpkin based rice pudding.

  3. Hey!
    Just wanted to let you know that over at createlive, we’re just finishing up a pumpkin recipe series called “The 12 Days of Pumpkins.” For the next few days, we’ll be hosting a link-up, featuring any recipes involving pumpkin, and will be choosing a good number of these recipes to have their own page (which can include your blog name and URL!) in a pumpkin cookbook! Just thought you might be interested in the additional press or being included in a cookbook – and this is a really great recipe! Find the link up here!
    Have a great one 🙂

    -Carly

Leave a Reply

