Tangy Mini Lemon Pies and Your Mama Was A Snowblower

Look at how adorable these things are!  They look like tiny white kisses.  And a burst of yellow is just what this cool, grey day needs.

I can’t believe I’m not turning these into cupcakes, but today is a special post for a special person.  My step-dads birthday is today and this is one of his favourites!  I wanted to make something just for him because he’s really a super nice guy.  And here’s the best part…..I cheated on the pastry and the lemon curd so assembly was super quick and easy.   Not that he doesn’t deserve tarts made from scratch, but I only had an hour after work and this was so simple and tasty.

He has a nickname for literally everyone I know (even my friends 25 years later…) and he’s moved me countless times (that was the last time I promise…).   He has quirky, weird sayings for everything (I can’t tell you how many times I heard “your mama was a snowblower” growing up!) and the grandkids all think he’s a hoot.  He has a big heart and he’s good to his family.

Thanks for helping me out so many times.  And for being the guy that I call when I’m lost.  Hope you have a great birthday today!

Mini Meringue Lemon Pies

1.  First, use your best recipe for pie pastry, double crust.  Store bought pastry works just as well!  Roll out pastry and cut circles out with a 2″ biscuit cutter.  Press pastry into a mini muffin pan and generously prick each mini pie with a fork.  Bake at 400 degrees for about 8 minutes or until golden.  Remove pies from the oven and allow to cool for approximately 10 minutes.

2.  Fill each mini pie with lemon curd.  Lemon pie filling works just as well too.

3.  In your stand mixer, whip 3 egg whites, 1/4 tsp cream of tartar and 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp of sugar.  Whip until stiff peaks form.  Pipe onto lemon filling.  Broil for a few minutes until meringue is golden.  Serve immediately.

12 Comments

Filed under Pie

12 responses to “Tangy Mini Lemon Pies and Your Mama Was A Snowblower

  1. Paula

    You or your step-dad can both say my mama was a snowblower anytime…so long as you hand me one of these right after you say it!

  2. alvena

    Excellent, Gerry brought three over to moms to share with our dad’s friend from Scottland origanally, they were a big hit. Dad (our dad) used to visit him when he was on leave from the army during the war. Your tarts were sooooo good.

  3. Court

    I liked these as much as the pumpkin cupcakes!

  4. limeshake

    Gosh these look amazing going to have to make some thanks Renee

  5. They look gorgeous, lemon meringue pie is one of my favourites and I love the idea of having them bite size. I do a lemon meringue cupcake and it’s always popular. It’s a lemon sponge, with lemon filling and lemon buttercream, topped off with a meringue.

  6. Ginger

    How do you keep the sides from shrinking down into a pool of pie crust at the bottom of the cup? These are too little to use foil and pie weights

  7. I know I’m a bit late to the party but these look beautiful. Just one question; do you bake your pastry blind? Thank you.

Leave a Reply

