Wild Blueberry and Lemon Preserves

I love the whole exercise of preserving things even though it seems so old-fashioned.  Fresh summer fruit, preserved in all of its sweetness.  It’s taking the beauty of a gardens harvest and ‘putting it up’ at the peak of freshness.  And the process is so simple.

I use preserves for a lot of things.  Raspberry preserves (here) on a sponge cake, in cobblers, pies and of course as a filling for cupcakes (these were filled with an amazing pineapple sauce)!  I can use these goodies all year round and nothing banishes the winter blues like spooning some blueberry preserves over your hotcakes.  Lovely.

Today I made some Wild Blueberry and Lemon Preserves.  This recipe takes maybe an hour from start to finish and so worth the time.

I used wild blueberries.  I had a little bit of  fresh picked local berries that I threw in this batch as well.

I do a mixture of 250 ml and 500 ml jars.  When I need just a little, I can open a small jar and it usually gets gobbled up pretty quickly.  If I need to use it for a layer cake or to fill cupcakes I open a bigger jar.  Seems to cut down on waste and my husband is always saying our fridge has more condiments than food in it!

Homemade Wild Blueberry and Lemon Preserves

*adapted from Paula Dean

5 cups fresh or frozen blueberries (thaw frozen berries in the refrigerator the night before)
6 1/2 cups sugar
Zest of two lemons
Juice of two lemons
2  envelops liquid fruit pectin, such as Certo
7 (250 ml) canning jars with lids, washed and full of boiling water

In a large heavy bottomed pot put berries, sugar, juice and zest.  On medium-high heat bring berries to a full boil (stirring frequently).  Add liquid pectin and boil one minute longer.  Remove from heat and skim any foam if necessary.  Ladle into prepared jars and leave 1/4 inch head space.  Place the caps on the jars and process in a canner of boiling water for 15 minutes.

Store in a cool dark place.

9 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Extra Special

9 responses to “Wild Blueberry and Lemon Preserves

  1. shirley

    Thank You for posting the recipe I love to can ,always looking for new recipes.

  2. Dot

    This will be on my schedule this summer!

  3. Nancy

    what is “zest” please??

  4. Katrina

    This sounds heavenly thank you for sharing.

  5. Fran

    I’m going to copy your recipe, I’ll make it when the blueberries come in season. The recipe sounds good.
    Thank you
    Fran

  6. Can’t wait to try this next week, when we get paid, I am a blueberry kind of girl.

  7. I admire your goid article, thankyou for thhe greeat content.

  8. Jess

    Have you tried this recipe with only one envelope of certo? I have never used 2 in one batch before.

Leave a Reply

