Got Milk?

The only time I really drink milk is when it’s dressed up like this…

After work today I rushed home to make a batch of chocolate chip cookies for my daughters class party.  Much to my surprise, someone has been in the fridge and the chocolate chip bag has only a few morsels laying in the bottom.  I think it’s time to install the ‘fridge-cam’ that I have seriously pondered inventing.  For the amount of time I spend in the kitchen, I have no idea how my chocolate supply keeps going missing!  I had no other choice but to use chocolate chunks!

Oh my goodness, these warm cookies were so yummy with a huge glass of cold milk…. I had to keep counting them to make sure I would have enough for the party!

Super easy to make too..

Chocolate Chunk Cookies

*adapted from Better Homes and Gardens

1/2 cup shortening

1/2 cup butter (unsalted)

2 1/2 cups flour

1 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

2 large eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp baking soda

2 cups good quality semi-sweet baking chocolate, cut into chunks

1.  Pre-heat oven to 375°.  In mixing bowl beat butter and shortening until combined, approx 1 min.  Add 1 cup of the flour, both sugars, eggs, vanilla and baking soda.  Mix until well combined.  Add the last cup and a half of flour and beat for one minute.  Stir in the chocolate chunks.

2.  Drop dough by rounded tablespoon on to parchment lined cookie sheet (about 2″ apart).  Bake for 8-10 minutes, until golden at the edges.  Cool on a baking rack.

5 Comments

Filed under Cookies

5 responses to “Got Milk?

  1. Nina

    I’m from Denmark, and I don’t know what shortening is. Can I use something else as a substitute?

  2. First, I love your site and can’t wait to try many of your recipes!
    I have a question about this recipe. It says 2.5 c of flour but in the recipe you say add one cup of flour then add the other. I guess that leaves the half cup if flour? I’m probably over thinking it and being ditzy but I just wanted to double check! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

