Absence Makes The Heart Grow Fond

My girlfriend moved to England a few years ago.  I cried like a baby when she left.  Although I was so happy for her courage to move far away, I was devastated at what I thought was my loss.  I’ve been to visit and she took me to Paris for my birthday ( SOOO NICE).  She has been home to visit many times since then.  We talk every Sunday on the phone and it’s as though she still lives 10 minutes away.  I do still have times when I really miss the girl time.  The distance makes movie night a little difficult and I sure would love to go have dinner (in Paris again would be awesome!).   Really, not a lot has changed though, we still argue over movies and books and we always seem to talk about food.  She recently sent me a recipe for Genoise Sponge Cake that she made at a dinner party and it looked amazing!   Below is my version, just a simple 2 layer with lemon whipped cream, raspberry preserves and fresh raspberries.   As I make it, I have a little smile on my face, thinking of my good friend.  Enjoy,

Sponge Cake

*adapted from Gourmet Magazine

preheat oven to 350 degrees

6 eggs room temperature

2/3 cup vanilla sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup sifted cake  flour

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1/3 cup melted unsalted butter, cooled

Lemon Whipped Cream Frosting (see below)

3/4 cup raspberry preserves for serving

2 pints fresh raspberries for serving

1.  Butter and flour a 10″ round pan.  In stand mixer with whisk attachment combine eggs, vanilla and sugar.  Beat on high speed for 10 minutes (mixture should triple in volume).  In a separate bowl, sift flour and salt together.

2.  Remove bowl from stand mixer and very gently fold flour and salt in with spatula (1/3 at a time).  In a small bowl, mix some of the cake mixture with the melted butter until incorporated.  Add this to the cake mixture, again gently folding.

3.  Pour mixture into cake pan and bake for 30-35 minutes until golden.  Cake will begin to pull away from sides of pan.   Unmold onto wire rack for cooling.

*Sponge cake is easier to work with on the 2nd day, so make the night before if you plan on cutting layers.

4.  Cut cooled cake into 2 layers.  Place bottom layer on a cake platter and spread with raspberry preserves.  Spread a layer of frosting on top of preserves.  Put 2nd layer on top of frosting.  Frost top with remaining frosting and cover top with fresh raspberries.

Lemon Whipped Cream Frosting

*Better Homes and Gardens Recipe

In large chilled bowl beat 2 cups whipping cream, 2 Tbps. powdered sugar, and 1 Tbsp. instant vanilla pudding on medium-high until stiff peaks form. Fold in 1 Tbsp. grated lemon peel.

1 Comment

Filed under Cake

One response to “Absence Makes The Heart Grow Fond

  1. I see your site is outranked by many competitors in google.
    You should spy their backlinks and use them for your blog and you will hit top3 very fast.
    There is useful tool for this, just search google for –
    rilkim’s tips

Leave a Reply

