If At First You Don’t Succeed….Use Fondant

My husband is opening the pool today.  Yay!  I’m hoping that at some point in the next few weeks we will be able to enjoy it.  We have had nothing but rain for weeks.   I think my feet are beginning to web…I can’t get the wet dog smell out of my house!

ENOUGH  ALREADY….!!!!

Ok, complaining done.   I’ve closed my eyes, said a little prayer, taken a few deep breaths and am hoping the sun will shine.

In the meantime…I really enjoy making and decorating sugar cookies.  I said I enjoy it, but haven’t quite mastered the decorating yet.  Icing is trickier than you think (hence the fondant comment…)!  This is my 3rd time making them this week (practise makes perfect!).  We’ve had footballs, raindrops, flip flops and daisies.  These sugar cookies are pretty yummy and pretty cute.  The cookie dough is VERY easy to make.  Endless cookie cutter possibilities!  If decorating is not your thing these cookies taste great on their own too.    Enjoy….

Amanda’s Super Duper Amazing Sugar Cookies

*from I Am Baker

Heat oven to 350°

1 1/2 cup unsalted butter

2 cups sugar

2 whole eggs

2 egg yolks

4 tsp vanilla extract

2 tsp almond extract

4 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp salt (I use kosher salt)

1 tsp baking powder

1.  In a stand mixer with the paddle attachment, beat sugar and eggs until well combined (2-3 mins).  Add in eggs, vanilla and almond extract and mix until combined.

2.  In a separate bowl, sift together the remaining ingredients.  Add flour mixture to butter mixture, slowly, and mix just until combined.

3.  Wrap dough in plastic wrap and refrigerate for one hour.   Roll out dough (to about 1/4″), cut out cookies and bake for 6-9 mins.  Cool on wire rack before icing.

*I rolled my dough between 2 sheets of plastic wrap, then placed the dough on a cookie sheet (before cutting it out) and put it in the freezer for 15 minutes.  It is much easier to handle when well chilled.

Amanda’s Frosting Recipe

*recipe from I Am Baker

1 cup icing sugar

1 tbsp corn syrup

drop of lemon juice

1 tbsp milk

Mix first 3 ingredients adding milk a drop at a time until you reach desired consistency.  Food colouring/gels can be added when you add milk.

Keeps well in the refrigerator for a few days.

*rolled fondant is easy to use as an alternative.  Just roll it out, use the same cookie cutter to cut out the shape and apply with a touch of corn syrup.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies

Leave a Reply

