Happy New Year! {Kahlua Marshmallows}

Well here we are toe to toe with 2014.   It’s been a crazy year in our house and a busy year in blog world too.  I’m sitting here with a cup of dark hot chocolate munching on these yummy treats thinking about what’s ahead.

kahlua3

It’s been a year full of first experiences for me.  I started exercising and ran my first race.  I was published in the launch issue of a national magazine for the first time.  I hand finished some furniture for our home.  I started a new job that brings me immense joy.  I volunteered in my community.   I learned that putting yourself out there can be exhilarating and heartbreaking all at the same time.

kahlua

I learned to truly appreciate you too, dear readers.  The sheer love of good food connects us all over the world.   Your comments and questions help this become a better place.  Help me become a better baker, blogger, writer.  Your patience with me through some long silences has really been appreciated.

kahlua4

Here’s to you my friends.  To a new year full of firsts. More joy, highlights and surprises.  Be kind to one another.   Step out of your comfort zone.  Forgive someone.

I wish you all the best in 2014.

Happy New Year!

Renee

xo

kahlua1

Kahlua Marshmallows

Note:  The recipe that follows is for the marshmallows only.  I piped the marshmallow kisses on a baking sheet for regular marshmallows as well as on top of shortbread cookies that I dipped in chocolate. A must try!

*adapted from marthastewartweddings.com

  •                                         3 tablespoons cornstarch
  •                                         3 tablespoons confectioners’ sugar
  •                                         Vegetable oil cooking spray for pans
  •                                         1 package (2 1/2 teaspoons) unflavored gelatin
  •                                         1/3 cup Kahlua for gelatin, plus 1/4 cup for syrup
  •                                         1 cup granulated sugar
  •                                         1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Mix cornstarch with confectioners’ sugar in a small bowl. Coat two rimless baking sheets with cooking spray.  Dust with cornstarch mixture to cover completely; shake off excess. Sprinkle gelatin over the Kahlua in a mixer bowl. Let stand to soften, about 5 minutes.
  2. Heat 1/4 cup water and the granulated sugar in a small pan over medium-high heat, stirring, until dissolved. Place a candy thermometer into syrup; wipe sides of pan with a wet pastry brush if crystals have splattered up. Boil, without stirring, until temperature reaches the soft-ball stage (238 degrees). Remove from heat; add to softened gelatin. Hand-stir with the whisk attachment a few seconds to cool; place bowl on mixer stand. Whisk on medium-high until soft peaks form and mixture holds a shape, 8 to 10 minutes.
  3. Whisk in the vanilla .  Transfer mixture to a pastry bag with a round tip and pipe kisses on baking sheets.  Let stand at room temperature until set.

15 Comments

Filed under Cookies, Extra Special

15 responses to “Happy New Year! {Kahlua Marshmallows}

  1. These look gorgeous! I hope that you and your family have a Very Happy and healthy New Year.xx

  2. Those look so tasty! I was torn between drooling over that and the dark hot chocolate you mentioned.

  3. Happy new year and I look forward reading your posts.

  4. The cup of hot chocolate is beautiful!

  5. There is something simply voluptuously wonderful, decadently delicious. outrageously gorgeous about home made marshmallows. During the second world war you couldn’t buy marshmallows so my father (who was a chef) made them for us. We were the envy of the neighborhood. Virginia

  6. This is a cute way to make marshmallows as opposed to trying to cut through a sticky mess. Love!

  7. Fantastic! I have some Kahlua…have to try these! YUM!

  8. Oh My! These look soooo good! yum!

  9. would love to try this one

Leave a Reply

