Summer Peach and Apricot Pavlova

This is the last day of summer for us before school begins again.  My son came into my room this morning and announced that it’s officially a “school night.”  They’ve had lazy days around the pool, sleeping in and late nights with friends.  I think tomorrow morning is going to be a shocker for everyone!

pavlova 6

Yesterday we took a long relaxing drive around the lake.  It’s usually one of our end of summer trips.  We stop at local orchards, quaint shops and wineries and sit on an outdoor patio with a pitcher of Sangria.

pavlova 2

I brought home more goodies than usual this year.  I packed the car with stone fruit and first of the season apples.  I couldn’t help it, I love the fresh ripe taste of the summer harvest!    Peaches, pears, apples and apricots as far as the eye can see.  I’m so grateful for it and grateful that it is available to me.  We are very lucky.

pavlova 4Putting sweet peaches and apricots on a cloud of whipped cream and brown sugar meringue was the best idea.  Topped off with just a drizzle of butterscotch sauce.  I often keep meringues in the freezer because they freeze so well.  And dessert is ready with very little preparation.  I used a dark brown sugar in my meringue this time and I’m so glad I did.  Just a hint of caramel flavor.  There really is no need to sweeten the whipped cream.  This dessert has enough sweetness on its own.

My kids love it when I use some left over meringue to make meringue kisses.  I usually pipe it right on top of a chocolate or butterscotch chip.  It’s a quick one bite treat that everyone looks forward to.  Especially me!

pavlova 5

I hope that you and your family are enjoying the last days of summer too!

Brown Sugar Pavlova’s with Peaches and Apricots

from Epicurious.com

This made 10 individual servings plus some meringue kisses.  Freeze half of the meringues for later use.

  • 6 egg whites
  • 1 1/2 tsp of corn starch
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1 cup super fine sugar
  • 2 tsp white vinegar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 2 peaches and 2 apricots sliced and macerated in a tbsp of sugar and a pinch of nutmeg- for at least an hour.
  • butterscotch sauce for drizzle

1.  Whip egg whites and a pinch of salt until soft peaks form.  Gradually add the sugars and the corn starch.  Whip on high-speed for one minute.  Add the vanilla and vinegar and whip on high-speed again until thick and glossy- about 5 minutes.

2.  Pipe or spoon individual pavlovas onto parchment paper.  You can trace circles on the opposite side of the parchment to use as a guide if need be.  Mine were about 4 inches in diameter.  Bake at 275° for 60 minutes.  Turn the oven off and prop the door open with a spoon.  Leave the meringues in there for another hour.

3.  Whip whipping cream until it just holds peaks.  Spoon on top of pavlovas and top with the fruit.  Drizzle with butterscotch sauce.

14 Comments

Filed under Extra Special

14 responses to “Summer Peach and Apricot Pavlova

  1. And I’m drooling! I’ve been LOVING fresh peaces the past few weeks!

  2. School starts tomorrow for my kids too, summer went by quick this year. Thank you for this wonderful recipe, can’t wait to try!!

  3. This is just amazing!! I really like the nutmeg touch..!

  4. Love it; especially as it has butterscotch sauce…

  5. End of summer/beginning of fall–a bittersweet time. But great-looking fall recipes help! Thanks!

  6. Reblogged this on Smoothemeraldoasis59's Blog and commented:
    Looks solo deliciously dangerous for my arteries, though.

  7. Beautiful recipe and nice combinaison of flavours….brown sugar and peaches get along pretty well!

  8. Wow, really great recipe and beautiful photos!

  9. Courtney

    Looks yummy Renee! I want to try it! Pics are beautiful!

  10. looks delicious and I bet the addition of nutmeg really gives it a nice twist

  11. these are beautiful, and the butterscotch is a great twist :)

Leave a Reply

