Pomegranate Jelly

I know in the last few years I’ve shared with you some of my favourite things:
1. Chocolate ~ of any kind.
2. Beautiful Cupcakes.
3. Frosting.

Add to that list my undying adoration for the pomegranate. It’s such a gorgeous deep crimson fruit that’s full of vitamin C and antioxidants.

I eat one a day, and soon the season will be over around here and my daily treat will be scarce. I thought I needed to bottle up some of that sweet tart juicy pom love so I made a jelly.

It was just the prettiest darn jelly I have ever seen.

pom3

As a treat after dinner I made some easy butter puff pastry nests with mascarpone whip piped around the top and a dollop of jelly in the middle. So darn good. A light dessert that’s like a little bite of spring.

pom1

No word of a lie, if the world was crumbling around me I would not move an inch until I had licked the mascarpone whip bowl clean. It’s that delicious.  It’s the same whip that I used here only with mascarpone cheese.

Make extra and dip it with some fruit.  Or just selfishly eat it with a spoon like I did.

pom4

I read a few recipes and combined them for my own.   The grated orange peel gives this jelly an amazing flavour that can be used for both sweet and savoury dishes.

Enjoy,

Pomegranate Jelly

*this made eleven 8 oz jars

  • 5 cups fresh pomegranate juice – you can use POM juice too for less mess
  • 7  cups white sugar
  • zest of one orange
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 2 packages of liquid pectin

1.   Combine pomegranate juice, butter, zest and sugar in a large saucepan. Bring to boil over high heat and add liquid pectin. Bring back to a full boil, and boil  exactly 1 minute. Remove from heat and skim off foam, if any.

2.  Ladle into hot, sterilized jars to within about 1/2 inch of the top.   Seal with lids (that have been sitting in some hot water) and rings.   Leave the jars to rest on the counter for 24 hours.

** the puff pastry nests are store bought pastry that I cut with a round cutter.

10 Comments

Filed under Extra Special, Sauces and Syrups, Uncategorized

10 responses to “Pomegranate Jelly

  1. Yum! Looks delicious, any tips for getting the seeds out from the pomegranate?

    • eb43- just pulse arils in a blender (only a few pulses needed), then strain in a mesh strainer. One pomegranate equals 1/2-3/4 of a cup juice. I used half fresh juice and half POM juice.
      Renee

  2. Oh my god I just want to die in that Jelly. It looks superb.

  3. Very interesting post, never thought of making a pomegranate jelly, looks yummy!

  4. What a beautiful dessert

  5. Just wanted to say everything looks AMAZING! I wanted to follow you on Facebook or Pinterest but I cannot see the buttons :( so I subscribed instead! Plus all pictures are fantastic! Well done!

  6. Hi Renee,
    Great post on Pomegranate Jelly! Please e-mail me at natdecants@nataliemaclean.com. It’s about wine of course :)
    Cheers,
    Natalie

  7. Pomegranate’s one of my favorite ingredients! Can’t wait to try this one! thanks :)
    -Adison
    adisjazzkitchen.com

Leave a Reply

