Chocolate Tiramisu Cupcakes

Company’s coming!  Today my sister-in-law is coming with her boys for dinner and a swim.  I am sooo looking forward to some adult company this afternoon!  Now that summer is here our house is constantly full of kids and I have become a full time lifeguard in our pool (not that I’m complaining about sitting poolside all day long…)!  So we’ve made a lovely summer BBQ dinner and of course a decadent dessert.  These are Chocolate Tiramisu Cupcakes.  Boozy Kahlua cupcakes topped with mascarpone cheese and whipped cream…hello!  Screaming your name yet??

Ok, so here’s what I did…these are actually a recipe from Pampered Chef.  They use mini cakes for theirs, but me?  Go big or go home that’s what I say.  I did not use a cake mix, I made this decadent dark chocolate cake from Sweetapolita (who I LOVE and am secretly obssessed with), then I topped it with a mascarpone cheese mixture and whipped cream on top of that.  Okay, I must confess, I cheated on the whipped cream and went and bought some (gasp!).  Next time however, I would whip my own as it would probably be more stable and last longer.  I literally had to top one with the mascarpone and cream and then take pictures as the whipped cream was melting.  This isn’t a dessert you could throw on a picnic table and leave (it wouldn’t last that long anyway).

Make the cupcakes and let cool in the pan for 15 minutes.  Then, brush (LIBERALLY I say…) with some Kahlua or coffee liqueur.  Allow cupcakes to cool completely.  Top with mascarpone mixture and then whipped cream.  Sprinkle some cocoa on top.

Here’s the mascarpone mixture:

  • 250 grams mascarpone cheese, room temperature
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

1.  Mix thoroughly and pipe onto cooled cupcakes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cup Cakes

Leave a Reply

